The World’s 50 Best Restaurants 2013

15th April 2013
Robert Westacott
Ducasse The Worlds 50 Best Restaurants 2013Alain Ducasse, winner of the Diners Club International Lifetime Achievement Award 2013

The 11th Annual World’s 50 Best Restaurants awards have been announced, and will be held on Monday the 29th of April, at the prestigious Guildhall in London.

The award ceremony, which is dedicated to the world’s finest chefs, restaurateurs and culinary experts is organised by Restaurant magazine and is sponsored by San Pellegrino and Acqua Panna.

The awards are known for generating a significant amount of interest within the food industry each year, with recognition all across the globe. The official website behind the event was visited by over two million people last year alone.

Images Original 04 706905af 300x200 The Worlds 50 Best Restaurants 2013

Rene Redzepi, Noma, William Reed Business Media, Best Restaurant in the World and Best Restaurant in Europe 2012

Some of the award categories include the Silestone Chef’s Choice Award, as well as the coveted prize on offer, San Pellegrino’s World’s Best Restaurant.

Among those which have been announced prior to the ceremony are the sensational Nadia Santini, winner of the 2013 Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef, and Alain Ducasse, winner of the Diners Club International Lifetime Achievement Award.

There is also a new category being introduced this time around in the form of the Sustainable Restaurant Award, sponsored by Zacapa. The winner will be the restaurant which has demonstrated the highest levels of environmental and social responsibility throughout the year.

The voting panel is comprised of 26 separate regions from around the world, with each region’s members including respected food critics, chefs and restaurateurs. Although there are no pre-determined criteria to dictate selection, each region must ensure that at least three of their seven allocated votes are dedicated to restaurants outside of their own region.

Keep an eye out for updates regarding the award ceremony. The all-important results will be published here promptly after they have been announced.